top of page
Bus Layton Blvd.jpg


Have a few minutes? Tell us what you want to see for transit along and near 27th Street.

About the Study

Milwaukee County and the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (SEWRPC) are beginning a transit study along and near 27th Street to enhance transit service, increase frequency, add amenities, and potentially expand the existing Milwaukee County Transit Service (MCTS) PurpleLine service area. Both rail and bus services will be evaluated. These transit improvements are expected to increase transit ridership along the corridor and will serve those residents and businesses along the preferred alternative. 

Existing MCTS PurpleLine Bus Service

More than 118,000 people live within one-half mile of the PurpleLine, which provides essential transit trips to the following destinations:

Corridor Location Map V3.png

Regional Connectivity

An enhanced North-South transit service will expand connectivity in Milwaukee County and build upon the recent approval of Federal investment in the Milwaukee East-West Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) corridor to provide faster transit service with modern amenities for riders throughout the County.

Return on Investment

Every $1 invested in public transit generates $4 in economic returns.*

Every $1 billion invested in public transit supports and creates more than 50,000 jobs.*

12 community resource centers

(includes community service centers, senior centers, social security offices, food pantries, and youth centers)

31 grocery stores and

5 big box discount stores

63 K-12 schools

4 major medical facilities

49,233 jobs and 2 job centers

The Study Team

SEWRPC is assisting with the study at the request of Milwaukee County. Staff from Milwaukee County Transit System (MCTS) are also part of the project management team for the study. A Technical Advisory Committee and a Community Advisory Committee have been formed to support the study. Members of those committees are listed below.

Technical Advisory Committee

  •  Village of Brown Deer

  • City of Franklin

  • City of Glendale

  • City of Greenfield

  • City of Milwaukee

  • City of Oak Creek

  • Wisconsin Department of Transportation

  • Federal Transit Administration

  • Federal Highway Administration

Community Advisory Committee

  • 30th Street Corridor 

  • ACLU of Wisconsin Foundation

  • African American Roundtable 

  • Amalgamated Transit Union Local 998 

  • Amani United

  • Bayshore (formerly Bayshore Town Center)

  • Black Health Coalition 

  • Bublr Bikes

  • Century City Triangle Neighborhood Association 

  • Clarke Square Neighborhood Initiative

  • Employ Milwaukee

  • Ethnic & Diverse Business Coalition

  • Forest County Potawatomi

  • Hmong American Friendship Association

  • IndependenceFirst 

  • Law Office of Dennis Grzezinski

  • Menomonee Valley Neighborhood Association


  • Milwaukee Center For Independence 

  • Milwaukee Transit Riders Union 

  • Milwaukee Urban League

  • NAACP 

  • Near West Side 

  • North Avenue Marketplace (27th and North) 

  • Northwest Side Community Development Corporation 

  • Regional Transit Leadership Council 

  • South 27th Street 

  • Southside Organizing Center 

  • UWM (Dr. Jie Yu and Dr. Bob Schneider)

  • VIA CDC (formerly Layton Boulevard West Neighbors)

Community Partners

  • Clarke Square Neighborhood Initiative

  • Century City Triangle Neighborhood Association

  • Metcalfe Park Community Bridges

  • Near West Side Partners

  • Northwest Side CDC

  • VIA  

Preliminary Project Timeline

bottom of page